Latest Podcast



Featured Articles

UK bans Huawei from 5G networks after 2027

UK bans Huawei from 5G networks after 2027

No new equipment to be installed after September 2021

The UK government has published more details of its plans to force the removal of Huawei equipment from any 5G networks operating in the country. This decision was originally announced in January.
Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating
UK and Europe push for customer 'right to repair'

UK and Europe push for customer 'right to repair'

Top companies criticised for "dodging their environmental responsibilities"

The UK Parliament's Environmental Audit Committee has published a report on Electronic Waste and the Circular Economy. It says the UK is "lagging behind other nations in embedding a circular economy of use, reuse and recycle for small electronics".
Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating
Apple ‘Batterygate’ case settled in USA

Apple ‘Batterygate’ case settled in USA

Apple has agreed to pay $113 million in the USA to settle allegations that it deliberately slowed down older iPhones.
Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating
Xiaomi moves past Apple with Q3 2020 smartphone shipments

Xiaomi moves past Apple with Q3 2020 smartphone shipments

Samsung still ahead

Xiaomi was one of the world's top three smartphone producers in the third quarter of this year; the first time it's ever reached that position. The figures come from technology analyst company Canalys, which puts Huawei in second place and Samsung in the lead.
Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: 4.0
Ofcom bans locked handsets from December 2021

Ofcom bans locked handsets from December 2021

New customer-friendly rules from UK telecoms regulator

Telecoms regulator Ofcom is to ban UK mobile network operators from selling handsets that are 'locked' to their networks.
Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating
RSS

Opinion Articles

Predictions for 2016: Network Function Virtualisation, 4G throttling and video calling

Mark Windle, head of marketing at OpenCloud, predicts that this year’s reduction in the number of traditional telecoms operators in some countries will provide an opportunity for other operators to innovate and capture market share in 2016.

He says next year will be a year of rapid change for telecoms… whether it’s MVNO disruption, competitive tariff pricing or simply defence from the ‘dark art’ of hacking.

Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating
Kapture review: the audio-recording wristband

Kapture review: the audio-recording wristband

A 'recording watch' that links to your smartphone

Mark Bridge writes:

The most memorable moments in life often go unrecorded. You don't have your camera in your hands. Your finger is still hovering over the 'pause' button on your audio recorder. Or you were simply too busy experiencing whatever was happening. It's all about the one that got away.

That's where Kapture can help.

Author: The Fonecast
4 Comments
Article rating: 4.0
Making mobile websites work better

Making mobile websites work better

Device detection and responsive design explained

Mark Bridge writes:

James Rosewell shows me a colourful roll of paper that's the width of an iPhone but well over three metres long. When I look closer, I can see it's a printed copy of the Wall Street Journal's mobile website. That's a lot of scrolling to do... and a pretty unfriendly user experience for anyone reading the news online. Why does it work so badly?

Author: The Fonecast
1 Comments
Article rating: 3.8

Podcast transcript: O2 counts on 3, Microsoft counts to 10 and Apple counts its profits

Here’s an edited transcript of our new monthly podcast, broadcast on 30th January 2015.

[Iain Graham]: Hello, it's Friday 30th January 2015. Welcome to this month's edition of The Fonecast. That’s right, you heard correctly: we’ve temporarily moved to a monthly format. If you’d like to join 51Degrees in sponsoring the podcast and returning us to weekly programmes, please get in touch via our website. Now, on with the show.

Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: 5.0

The secret of Apple's success

Mark Bridge writes:

What’s the secret of Apple’s success? That’s the question I was asked earlier this week by LBC radio during a report on Apple’s impressive iPhone sales and its record quarterly results.

So here are six reasons I think Apple is doing so well at the moment.

Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating
RSS
12345678910Last

Recent Podcasts

Friday, January 15, 2016

Reviewing our 2015 mobile industry predictions... and looking forward to 2016

Podcast - 15th January 2016

Iain Graham, James Rosewell and Mark Bridge return to review their mobile industry predictions from last year. Which mergers, partnerships and developments did they forecast correctly... and which didn’t work out as planned?

The team also looks forward to 2016, anticipating some of the topics that will be hitting the headlines during the next 12 months.

You can listen to the programme on our website audio player, find us via iTunes, use our RSS feed, hear us on the Stitcher.com mobile app or download the mp3 file directly.

The Fonecast is a unique half-hour podcast for anyone working in - or interested in - the UK mobile phone industry. Follow us on Twitter or join our Facebook page and discover the latest mobile industry headlines as they happen. We're currently looking for sponsorship so that we can return to producing regular programmes.

Documents to download

Print
Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Rate this article:
No rating

Leave a comment

Name:
Email:
Comment:
Add comment

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x

Follow thefonecast.com

Twitter @TheFonecast RSS podcast feed
Find us on Facebook Subscribe free via iTunes

Archive Calendar

«December 2020»
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
30123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031123
45678910

Archive

Terms Of Use | Privacy Statement