Latest Podcast



Featured Articles

BlackBerry OS devices stop working in January 2022

BlackBerry OS devices stop working in January 2022

Former smartphone manufacturer BlackBerry has shut down its services for devices running the BlackBerry OS and BlackBerry 10 operating systems, preventing customers with these handsets from making calls, sending text messages or accessing data.
Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating
International roaming charges return in 2022

International roaming charges return in 2022

Mobile phone customers from the UK have been warned about the increasing cost of making calls in Europe.

The UK's post-Brexit trade deal with the EU opened the door for mobile operators to reintroduce 'roaming' charges when customers travel abroad.

Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating
Samsung renames its mobile business

Samsung renames its mobile business

No longer 'Mobile Communications' but MX (Mobile eXperience)

Samsung Electronics has renamed its mobile business, describing this as "the start of a new chapter to accelerate innovation to offer more personalized experiences to its users".
Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating
Mobile data traffic has increased almost 300-fold in the past 10 years

Mobile data traffic has increased almost 300-fold in the past 10 years

New research from Ericsson reveals that mobile data traffic has increased almost 300 times since 2011. The figures were revealed in the latest edition of the Ericsson Mobility Report, which was first published ten years ago.
Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating
Mobile phone driving law to be widened

Mobile phone driving law to be widened

The UK government says it plans to change the law around using hand-held mobile phones when driving. Next year it'll ban drivers from using hand-held phones under any circumstance, including taking photos, scrolling through playlists or playing games.
Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating
RSS

Opinion Articles

Friday, June 13, 2014

Product review: Nomad ChargeCard and Nomad ChargeKey

Connect and charge your smartphone on the move

Mark Bridge writes:

What would you say to a tiny little device that enabled you to recharge your smartphone almost anywhere, whenever you wanted?

This is pretty much what a US-based company called Nomad is promising. In fact, they sent me two of their latest products to try.

But first, a quick look back at my personal mobile phone history. My Nokia 2110 delivered around 30 hours of standby time. The first Nokia smartphone - the 9000 Communicator - achieved something similar. An Ericsson r380 from 2000 (running dear old Symbian) managed something like 120 hours. Last year's HTC One, which is my current handset, has a 2300mAh battery delivering up to 500 hours of standby. But that's theory. Today, in real terms, it barely manages a day of average use. Don't blame the phone; blame the apps.

As a result, I've developed a strategy. If I'm going to be out for a while, I carry a spare battery with me. Well, technically it's a UTOO 'power bank' with a built-in micro USB cable, but it's just a clever battery as far as I'm concerned. Of course, I need to make sure the power pack is always charged for whenever I need it - which can be a problem if I'm out for a couple of days in a row.

So I carry a spare mains charger as well. This isn't as much of a challenge as it sounds: I have a folding Mu-brand plug and a USB cable. That plug is a beautiful piece of design; it's like a baby Transformer. As a result, the combination of plug and cable is almost pocket-sized. It would be genuinely pocket-sized if I didn't already have a battery in my pocket.

And so my heart skipped a beat when Nomad got in touch. Could I say 'goodbye' to my collection of accessories? A couple of days later, a cardboard envelope dropped through the letterbox.

Inside were two devices, each in packaging that's only a few millimetres thick. Here we go...

Image

I started with the Nomad ChargeCard. It's a microUSB cable in the shape of a credit card (8.1cm by 4.6cm by 3mm). Let me explain. On one corner of the card - which reminded me of some 'keyless' car keys - is a microUSB plug. Clipped into the centre of the card is a USB plug; one of those 'skeleton' plugs that has four gold teeth but no outer shell. You unclip the USB plug, which has a short flexible cable attached, and you're now able to charge your phone wherever there's a USB socket. Your PC, a friend's laptop, a game console, in the car... plenty of choices.

Image

The theory is great, although my combination of HTC One and old Dell XPS laptop didn't work particularly well. I couldn't charge the phone 'face up' without worrying that the orientation of the sockets on my laptop and phone could cause the card to act as a lever and break something. A longer cable would have helped - but that would also result in a less pocket-friendly product. Despite this, it’s still a remarkably tough and flexible product. I may just be a worrier.

I also felt the designers had missed a couple of tricks. Firstly, a hole in the corner would let you use the card as a key fob - or add it to your keyring. Yes, I know it's designed for pockets and wallets but what's wrong with multi-tasking? And on the subject of wallets, is there any chance future versions could have a little cap for the microUSB plug? Okay, I might lose it after a few days but it would stop me from worrying about the protruding plug damaging something.

Image

On to the Nomad ChargeKey. It's an even simpler design than the ChargeCard; a short (6.6mm end-to-end) flexible cable with a skeleton USB plug on one end, a microUSB plug on the other and a keyring loop near the microUSB plug. Add it to your keys and then forget it... until you need it, anyway. Has it made a hole in my trouser pocket? No. Have I needed to take care of it in any special way? No. Has it broken? No. Will it be staying on my keyring for the foreseeable future? Absolutely. I can even charge my phone from my laptop without removing the rest of the keys.

Although I've been testing the microUSB versions of Nomad's products, there are also versions that offer a Lightning connector for anyone with an Apple iPhone 5, 5c or 5s, as well as compatible iPads. The company is selling its products online via its own website at hellonomad.com for $29 and also via Amazon for £20.

The Nomad ChargeKey and ChargeCard aren't a permanent solution to the problem of smartphone battery life. That's something for manufacturers to solve. But they are certainly a practical alternative to carrying a mains charger, cable and spare battery around all the time. Anyway, what kind of person would do that?

Print
Author: The Fonecast
1 Comments
Rate this article:
No rating

1 comments on article "Product review: Nomad ChargeCard and Nomad ChargeKey"

0
0
Avatar image

Mark

6/18/2014 5:10 PM

Nomad has redesigned the ChargeKey and ChargeCard: they're now the NomadKey and NomadCard. The card version no longer has the microUSB plug on the corner; instead it's on a second clip-out cable, which looks more practical and less worrying!

Leave a comment

This form collects your name, email, IP address and content so that we can keep track of the comments placed on the website. For more info check our Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use where you will get more info on where, how and why we store your data.
Add comment

Recent Podcasts

Reviewing our 2015 mobile industry predictions... and looking forward to 2016

Podcast - 15th January 2016

Iain Graham, James Rosewell and Mark Bridge return to review their mobile industry predictions from last year. Which mergers, partnerships and developments did they forecast correctly... and which didn’t work out as planned?

Later in the programme, the team anticipates some of the topics that will be hitting the headlines during 2016.

Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating

Podcast from Mobile World Congress 2015

Podcast - 6th March 2015

Mark Bridge learns about the mobile technology trends at Mobile World Congress 2015 by chatting to James Rosewell of 51Degrees, Dr Kevin Curran from the IEEE and Chris Millington of Doro.

They talk about wearable devices, wireless charging, mobile operating systems and much more... including some of their favourite products from the exhibition.

Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating

Looking back at February: from security scares to multiple MVNOs

Podcast - 27th February 2015

We're taking a look back at the biggest mobile industry news stories from February 2015, including allegations that the UK's security service tried to breach SIM card security by hacking into one of the world's biggest SIM producers.

We also talk about the planned BT and EE merger, the creation of two new UK virtual networks, some acquisitions in the mobile payment arena and a new Ubuntu smartphone.

Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating

Interview with Chris Millington of Doro about mobile retailing, wearables and technology for older consumers

Podcast - 24th February 2015

In today's programme Mark Bridge talks to Chris Millington, who's Managing Director for Doro UK and Ireland.

They discuss the state of mobile retailing in the UK, the future of wearable devices and - as you might expect - smartphones for seniors.

Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating

A month of mobile: O2 counts on 3, Microsoft counts to 10 and Apple counts its profits

Podcast - 30th January 2015

We're back with a month of mobile industry news, including takeover talks and takeover rumours. O2 and Three are said to be discussing a merger... but is there any truth in the suggestions that BlackBerry could be up for grabs?

We also discuss Apple's record-breaking quarterly figures, the highlights of CES and the launch of Microsoft Windows 10, as well as saying farewell to the current version of Google Glass.

Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating
RSS
1345678910Last

Follow thefonecast.com

Twitter @TheFonecast RSS podcast feed
Find us on Facebook Subscribe free via iTunes

Archive Calendar

«January 2022»
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
272829303112
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31123456

Archive

Terms Of Use | Privacy Statement