Latest Podcast



Featured Articles

Ofcom says mobile contracts should ditch inflation-related price rises

Ofcom says mobile contracts should ditch inflation-related price rises

UK telecoms regulator Ofcom wants to ban inflation-related rises in phone and broadband contracts. Instead, it says any potential mid-contract price rises should be set out in pounds and pence.
Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating

Global smartphone market is set for recovery, says new forecast

A new forecast from research specialists Canalys shows the smartphone market is set to recover next year. Worldwide shipments declined by 12% last year but that decline is expected to slow to 5% this year.
Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating
Vodafone and Three plan to merge their UK businesses

Vodafone and Three plan to merge their UK businesses

New Hutchison/Vodafone network would be biggest UK operator

Vodafone Group plc and CK Hutchison Group Telecom Holdings Limited have agreed to combine their UK telecommunication businesses, respectively Vodafone UK and Three UK. The merger will create a large new network operator to compete with Virgin Media O2 and EE.
Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating

UK mobile payment service Paym to close in March 2023

UK mobile payment service Paym will close on 7th March 2023. The service, which allowed users to make and receive payments using their mobile phone numbers, was launched in 2014.
Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating
Qualcomm legal action moves forward in the UK

Qualcomm legal action moves forward in the UK

Which? seeks payout for Samsung and Apple smartphone owners

Consumer protection organisation Which? has been given permission by the UK's Competition Appeal Tribunal to represent Apple and Samsung smartphone buyers in a legal case against chip manufacturer Qualcomm.
Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating
RSS

Opinion Articles

Wednesday, November 4, 2009

Movon MB80 Bluetooth handsfree wristband review

Mark Bridge writes:

I’m always on the lookout for technology that’ll make life easier. That’s one of the reasons the Movon MB80 caught my eye. It’s a Bluetooth handsfree unit that you wear on your wrist. The MB80 is designed for the times your phone’s not convenient and you don’t want to miss a call – but you also don’t want to wear a Bluetooth headset. Perhaps you’re playing sports or are out for an evening with friends. The Movon Bluetooth wristband rings or vibrates when someone calls – and then can be used as a handsfree loudspeaker.

I first saw this advertised by Elite Mobile – and, as someone who feels a bit self-conscious wearing a headset, I was interested to see how practical it really was – so I asked them if I could borrow one.

Movon MB80 handsfree speakerphone in packagingWell, when it turned up I was rather impressed. It comes in a transparent plastic box with a cardboard sleeve on the bottom part – I was expecting a blister pack. That bottom part is actually a cardboard box containing the microUSB mains charger and a user guide. Once you’ve removed the cardboard packaging, the side of the plastic box opens and you’re in.

The unit itself was a little lighter than I’d expected; it’s made of silver/grey plastic with a black strap and a little chrome edging. On the left-hand side are volume controls and there’s a charging socket under a little rubber flap; on the front is a small loudspeaker grille, a single button and a tiny LED – and on the right-hand side is a hole for the microphone.

First step – put it on to charge. The LED glows red and turns blue when it’s fully charged.

Pairing it with a phone is as easy as with most Bluetooth headsets. And this isn’t just a handsfree device, it’s also compatible with A2DP music and has AVRCP, which means it can even be used as a remote control for a Bluetooth music player. As well as that, it can work as a kind of security tag because it’ll warn you when your phone is out of Bluetooth range (which admittedly means a 10-metre start for any thief!)

It promises 4 hours maximum talk time and up to 160 hours of standby – that’s almost a week – and is class 2 Bluetooth, which gives you a maximum range of about 10 metres.

So that’s the spec – how does it work in real life?

Well, once my charging had finished, I hit the streets.

Movon MB80 Bluetooth bracelet being usedThere’s a gap in the strap, so you just stretch the bracelet over your wrist and it holds itself in place. Because it’s not heavy, it doesn’t feel uncomfortable and it slipped under the sleeve of my jumper although I did wonder what other people would think I was wearing if they saw it.

I use my mobile in my left hand and wear a Bluetooth headset on my left ear when I’m driving so I wore the wrist-strap on my left wrist. I don’t wear a watch very often, so that didn’t cause me a problem and it felt perfectly natural – although on a couple of occasions I looked at it expecting it to tell me the time.

The basic controls are pretty much as you’d guess: a long push on the button switches the MB80 on or off, a single press is for answering, making and ending calls. A quick press on the button redials the last person you called; my first thought was that I’d end up redialling people by accident – and, sure enough, I did… but only once. You can also redial the last person who called you, you can mute the mic during calls, you can mute the speaker during calls, you can reject calls… it’s very versatile, although some of the key press combinations took me a little while to remember.

And although there’s no display screen on the bracelet, you can make it speak the caller’s number – assuming they’re using caller ID – by pressing the volume key when someone calls. It means there’d be a bit of a delay before you answered but at least you can screen your calls if you want.

“And what are those calls like?” I hear you ask.

Well, I didn’t get off to a good start. I received a call from a friend at a railway station and they couldn’t hear me at all. I could hear them but it seemed as though the MB80 was confused by the background noise. The same happened with the next call, which was from another friend at a coffee shop. But then I turned the volume down and things seemed much better. Incidentally, the volume control seemed to be upside-down to me – you push the bottom of the rocker switch to increase the volume and the top to decrease it.

Movon MB80 reviewI also found that the MB80 worked well in the car. You’re not holding anything, so I don’t see any problem with the legality, and call quality was fine.

In general, usability was pretty good – and pretty intuitive. There were, as I’ve mentioned, one or two aspects of the design that didn’t suit me but overall I’d be pretty happy with my investment if I’d bought one. Noisy situations can cause it problems, but no handsfree speakerphone works as well as talking directly into a handset.

So, to summarise, the Movon MB80 isn’t a substitute for a watch phone – because the average watch phone needs a headset as well. But it could be a convenient alternative to a Bluetooth headset. Unlike wearing a headset, you don’t feel as self-conscious when you’re walking and not talking – although with the Bluetooth wriststrap it is (of course) nigh-on impossible to have a private conversation.

The current retail price seems to be around £40; mine came direct from Elite Mobile who are one of the UK’s biggest mobile phone and accessory distributors.

Print
Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Rate this article:
No rating

Categories: OpinionNumber of views: 20197

Tags:

Leave a comment

This form collects your name, email, IP address and content so that we can keep track of the comments placed on the website. For more info check our Privacy Policy and Terms Of Use where you will get more info on where, how and why we store your data.
Add comment

Recent Podcasts

Reviewing our 2015 mobile industry predictions... and looking forward to 2016

Podcast - 15th January 2016

Iain Graham, James Rosewell and Mark Bridge return to review their mobile industry predictions from last year. Which mergers, partnerships and developments did they forecast correctly... and which didn’t work out as planned?

Later in the programme, the team anticipates some of the topics that will be hitting the headlines during 2016.

Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating

Podcast from Mobile World Congress 2015

Podcast - 6th March 2015

Mark Bridge learns about the mobile technology trends at Mobile World Congress 2015 by chatting to James Rosewell of 51Degrees, Dr Kevin Curran from the IEEE and Chris Millington of Doro.

They talk about wearable devices, wireless charging, mobile operating systems and much more... including some of their favourite products from the exhibition.

Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating

Looking back at February: from security scares to multiple MVNOs

Podcast - 27th February 2015

We're taking a look back at the biggest mobile industry news stories from February 2015, including allegations that the UK's security service tried to breach SIM card security by hacking into one of the world's biggest SIM producers.

We also talk about the planned BT and EE merger, the creation of two new UK virtual networks, some acquisitions in the mobile payment arena and a new Ubuntu smartphone.

Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating

Interview with Chris Millington of Doro about mobile retailing, wearables and technology for older consumers

Podcast - 24th February 2015

In today's programme Mark Bridge talks to Chris Millington, who's Managing Director for Doro UK and Ireland.

They discuss the state of mobile retailing in the UK, the future of wearable devices and - as you might expect - smartphones for seniors.

Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating

A month of mobile: O2 counts on 3, Microsoft counts to 10 and Apple counts its profits

Podcast - 30th January 2015

We're back with a month of mobile industry news, including takeover talks and takeover rumours. O2 and Three are said to be discussing a merger... but is there any truth in the suggestions that BlackBerry could be up for grabs?

We also discuss Apple's record-breaking quarterly figures, the highlights of CES and the launch of Microsoft Windows 10, as well as saying farewell to the current version of Google Glass.

Author: The Fonecast
0 Comments
Article rating: No rating
RSS
1345678910Last

Follow thefonecast.com

Twitter @TheFonecast RSS podcast feed
Find us on Facebook Subscribe free via iTunes

Archive Calendar

«May 2024»
MonTueWedThuFriSatSun
293012345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829303112
3456789

Archive

Terms Of Use | Privacy Statement